Shimano spd A530 pedals.

Onan
Onan Posts: 321
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Just a quick question before I buy them. They are called road touring pedals, and at online stores, tend to be listed under road pedals, but do they use the MTB recessed cleat system, or the road bike sticky outy cleat system?

Here's a link to some, because I imagine most of you who are not complete noobs like me can just look at them and tell me.

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/productde ... 0000000000

Thanks in advance for your help. I won't be buying online by the way. I'll be heading down to my LBS for shoes and pedals, as I will need to try stuff out. I just want to be well researched about what's available before I go down there.
Drink poison. Wrestle snakes.

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Yep, they take the mtb type recessed cleat system.

Kind of a hybrid; the mtb cleat system, but one sided and with the support of a road pedal

I have double sided mtb pedals on my road bike
  • I have 2 pairs of these pedals (2 bikes) and they are the MTB style cleat, I bought Shimano shoes to wear when cycling and the cleats are recessed.

I bought this style of pedal because I only have a short ride to work and back and can't be arsed to go the whole hog and wear cycling gear when I'm only on the bike for 15 minutes, weekends though are a different matter and obviously on a longer ride I use the cleats.
    Tarpaullynn
  • Onan
    Thanks for your help. They seem ideal to me. I can wear normal shoes if i can't be bothered to clip in for my commute, and when i am wearing my cleats, I won't have to worry about getting clipped in too much, because the flat side of the pedal will still work with the recessed cleats.

I think these are the pedals I'll go with.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123