tips on learning french

popette
popette Posts: 2,089
edited July 2008 in The bottom bracket
I studied french for 5 years at school. I went to France for hols this year and really enjoyed trying to speak and read French. Since then, I've been doing the Michel Thomas CDs and really want to be fluent by the time I go back to France next year for me hols and the Etape.
I can't go and live there (well, not until the kids are all at uni or whatever) so do you have any tips to become fluent while still living in Timperley?
I know a couple of girls who did French degrees but I'm too embarassed to talk to them. Mr P laughs at my french accent as it's an octave or two higher than my normal speaking voice.
merci beaucoup :)

Comments

• gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    you could try night classes in an adult learning environment - might help.

Do you have a long commute? - you could either listen to CD's in the car or even on an MP3 player on the bike if you cycle commute - people will look at you funny right enough as you are talking to yourself but it might work.

Good luck with it - some people seem to be just good with langages. My sister in Law and her fella moved to the alps a couple of years back - to chamonix as they are winter sports nuts. He has picked it up real quick while the sister in law hasn't been quite so quick.

My sole, remembered, phrase from my 'o' level french (from some time ago) is:
    "ca suffit Thierry - cest pa mal pour les dents"

Which translates as "thats enough terry - it's bad for your teeth"
  • ColinJ
    ColinJ Posts: 2,218
    Get a French au pair and ban her from speaking English on alternate days!

My sister had a succession of them when her kids were little and after a couple of years the children would switch between English and French without even realising it. It didn't help my sister's French much though because the au pairs tended to talk to the adults in English.