Bad Accident - 3 Months Off

pb21
pb21 Posts: 2,170
4 weeks ago I broke my hip :(

It may be two more months till I can start to do stuff like cycling. Although I think/hope I will be able to do very easy stuff on my indoor trainer before then.

My fitness before the accident was good. I had been cycling for 4 years continuously clocking up over 30,000 miles in that time. I could go out and knock out 100 hilly miles in 6 or less hours comfortably and was reasonably fast over shorter distances.

What will I be like after three months of hobbling around on crutches (very unfit I expect) and how long do you think it will take to get back up to a strong level of fitness?
Mañana

Comments

• Firstly, sorry to hear about your bad luck and I hope you get back on your bike soon.

Luckily, I have no experience of any serious injury, but I was told once (and it is probably an old wive's tale but it may reassure) that it takes a month of focused activity to make up for a year of slothfulness.

I imagine that is complete balls - but I can't see that it will set you back that much - footballers snap limbs and are back playing at the top level iabout a year from the injury.

Perhaps that is something you could aim for - to be back at your previous level twelve months after the injury?

Anyway, good luck.
  • craiguk
    craiguk Posts: 39
    PB, bad news hopefully you'll be on the mend and out on the bike before too long. One of the guys in our club had a hip replacement last october and he was out on the bike fairly quickly and has been racing already this year, putting in some good performances too. Just keep off the munchies whilst you are out of the saddle or it'll be a real struggle when you get going again.