How to lose upper body weight?.

muz250
muz250 Posts: 95
I was woundering what the best ways are for losing upper body weight. I am 5'11'' and weigh in at 85 kg. Not fit at the moment and am sure my normal / right weight should be around 75 kg.

Got a bike at the end of last year but only the last month or so have been riding regularly to get fit. My main aim to be able to start doing some sportive events and mayby next year do the etape, but before I can do either of these things need to get fit and loose some weight.

I also do motocross but due to alot of time off the bike over the last year and a half due to injurys lost alot of fitness and put on weight. Mainly want to get rid of all my upper body fat but not wanting to gain or lose alot of muscle, so that ill still have strength for motocross but lose all the exess weight to make cycling easyer.
So any advise would be helpfull.
:D
cheers.

Comments

• shisaa
    shisaa Posts: 82
    I'm not an expert, but would just suggest the common sense stuff really. i think it's quite difficult to target weight loss on specific parts of the body, but regular exercise, cycling will get rid of some fat, along with some calorie control obviously, particularly avoiding fats i suppose. Just like any diet.
    Another option would be some resistance work on your upper body, but if you don't want to gain muscle these should be low weight (relative to your current ability) and high repetition exercises, so it would build tone without giving too much bulk.
  • azzerb
    azzerb Posts: 208
    Yep as Shisaa said, you should do some weight work, so low weights + high reps.

These would mean you wouldn't gain much muscle gain (the muscle fibres built up should be small fibres, not large), yet for 48 hours after the weights you would be burning off the calories at a higher rate.