Hill Climb Tips

2»

Comments

• Richie G
    Richie G Posts: 283
    Just thought i'd mention that i enjoyed jjone's article in this months C+, sounded like hard work! Is the National Hill Climb open to anyone or do you have to qualify? I know i'm only a newbie but sounded a great event to be part of!
  • BeaconRuth
    BeaconRuth Posts: 2,086
    The article intrigued me because of Jeff's choice of approach, and the multi-picture layout. Maybe he'll be along to explain his reasoning. The very questions you're asking Rich are exactly the things it didn't answer, which I thought was a real pity. It was a fantastic display of pics and would have trumped any Cycling Weakly article hands-down on that basis alone............ if only the riders were identified! I know who is Dave Clarke and Matt Clinton and Jim Henderson - all the biggest names in UK Hill-climbing - but few of the rest of the C+ readership would know and it seemed a real shame not to put names to riders. Maybe there's some clever publishing theory behind keeping everyone except the author and the winner anonymous?

Anyway, to answer your question, Rich, anyone who is a member of a club affiliated to the CTT can enter the National HC Championship, provided that you have a qualifying ride in a previous open event - and provided that that ride is fast enough. However, the standard for getting into the National HC isn't high so you're very likely to get a ride if you do have a qualifying ride of any standard.

Oh yeah, and the number of pics of women didn't reflect the proportion of the participants who were women which seems a shame. Maybe a pic of the women's champion Caroline Kloiber would've been good too so that women cyclists could see the build of a top female hill-climber?

Ruth
  • Richie G
    Richie G Posts: 283