I bought a new jersey

2»

Comments

• Big n Daft
    Big n Daft Posts: 418
    Ooooooooooooooo

Its pink.

That's some dodgy feckin wallpaper though.
    Cycle tracks will abound in Utopia. ~H.G. Wells

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x42/ ... 3Small.jpg
  • Andy
    Andy Posts: 8,207
    Just waxing rhetorical here, but apart from the silliness of wearing a brand bceause 'your' team does, doesn't paying a fortune to wear a brand name emblazoned across your chest kind of go against the principles of fair business?

For example, if I was a professional athlete, watched by a great deal of people, T-mobile, Vodafone, Carlsberg or whoever would have to pay ME tons of money, more than anybody else would have offered, in fact, to have their insignia displayd on my clothing, bringing about brand awareness for them.

However, if you choose to go out and buy a T-shirt or jersey with that same insignia on it, you're required to pay a fortune in order to have the privilidge to advertise that product.

It may not seem like advertising to you, but suppose you're in a pub, wandering what to have, and some guy walks in wearing a 'Becks' T-shirt.
    It could possibbly lead you to think,
    "hmm, haven't had a bottle of becks in a while, I think I'll get one of them".

the guy in the Becks T-shirt is effectively advertising becks. But rather than get paid for it, he's had to pay them.

Doesn't seem right does it?
    That's why I find the whole thing retarded.

I promise you if someone see's a fat guy riding a superlight XC bike and wearing bright pink lycra the last thing they are going to think is 'I need a new mobile'.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    You're right, they'd think, "F-ing Tit"
    Also in their minds would be various lasser thoughts about why he's wearing a roadie top on an MTB, and how this probably makes him even more of a tit!
  • Andy
    And all that time I'd be enjoying myself while riding my bike. Thats what is important surely?