New tyre blew out...change or unlucky

Hi,had to buy a new front tyre as had a puncture and the short distance I rode going down hill on the flat split the side wall of the conti gatorskin 23mm.
So I ordered a new one at 25mm and on 2nd ride it blew out the sidewall going slowly down hill.
It was ridiculously loud when it exploded and I'm not sure if I hit something to make it do it or not, I'm assuming so.
Are there any tyres that are similar that don't have that thin mesh sidewall as seems a weak point to me obviously.
Or is it just bad luck.
Just wasted 37 quid.
I'm new to road cycling and bought the bike with those tyres on and have no idea what the equivalent or better are.
Live in London so lots of debris around although have been fairly lucky really upto now.
Cheers

Comments

• So close to rim? Tyre was at 95psi
  • monkimark
    monkimark Posts: 1,878
    Is there something sharp on the inside of the rim that could have cut the sidewall? Maybe the rim was damaged by the initial puncture?
  • The other thing that can do that is worn brake blocks overhanging the top edge of the rim.
  • masjer
    masjer Posts: 2,613
    Maybe bad luck, but I’d check the brake pads too. If they are set too high, they can end up with a lip (overhanging the rim brake track) that contacts the tyre sidewall and will wear through the tyre in a short time.
    Might not be the case, but worth checking.
  • Just let tyre down and checked and no there's no sharp edge or anything.
    Ran my fingers round on both sides as well.
  • masjer
    Oh, andrew s2 beat me to it. :o
  • Yup....ffs.
    That side brake block is the culprit it seems.
    I'd just adjusted the wire via the adjuster before I left and was happy how much better the brakes were.
    Live and learn I suppose could of been a lot worse if was going full speed down the hill I was meant to be going down.
    I'd turned off and was slowing down.
    Thanks 👍
  • So I might as well order same again huh?