Changing chainrings

Kauto5
Kauto5 Posts: 71
Hi everyone. I'm a novice when it comes to maintenance and repairs other than the very basics so I'm looking for a bit of advice.

I wish to change from semi compact 53/36 to compact 50/34. It's 12 speed 11-30 R8100 - would I need to reduce the length of the chain and adjust both derailleurs?

I'd like to have a go at doing it myself but I'm worried I'd make a complete mess of things. If it was just a case of changing the chainset then I'd be fine doing that with the help of s couple of YouTube videos, but if adjustments are needed then I'll go to my LBS.

Thanks!

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,591
    Should simply be a matter of changing the chainset. No real reason for derailleur adjustments but a tweak in worst case. Chain could lose a link but should be okay.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,538
    edited May 2022
    In my opinion, you would likely need to slide the front derailleur down ever so slightly so it's close enough to the 50, and as already mentioned probably trim the chain marginally.

If you can change a chainset, you can change the chainrings, you just need some allen keys plus the replacement rings, and need to ensure they go on in the right orientation.

Just compare with the current setup.
    Felt F70 05 (Turbo)
    Marin Palisades Trail 91 and 06
    Scott CR1 SL 12
    Cannondale Synapse Adventure 15 & 16 Di2
    Scott Foil 18
  • If you have the time and persistence, you can do the job. But I would do it in the presence of a handyman. I know how to change the wheel and tube, but to get in deeper, I'm afraid of breaking it. It all depends on your time. If you have time, you can spend a whole day just to learn :)
  • trevor.hall12
    trevor.hall12 Posts: 409
    edited May 2022