MTB brake system for finger amputees (university project)

Hello, I’m a final year undergraduate student at Bournemouth University studying product design. For my major project I have decided to develop a product for mountain bikers with a finger amputation who struggle to use the bicycle’s brake levers.

I have created a short questionnaire with google forms that takes 5 minutes to complete. If you are a mountain biker with or without a finger amputation it would be a great help if you have a spare 5 minutes to complete the questionnaire. This will provide a clearer understanding of how such a product may be used.

You do not need a google account to complete the questionnaire.

Link to the questionnaire

Thanks for your time

Comments

• steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,446
    To all: The link looks genuine, I completed the form.

To @alex_gunn: What a great idea for a research project!

You may get some ideas from other work that has been done for amputees. A couple of years ago, I saw a guy riding a bike with only one arm! He had both brakes on the right side and the left side of the bar had only a grip (for safety). He was considering removing the left side of the bar completely, down to the stem, because when he came off the left side bar end usually poked him in the ribs. Yikes.

I also saw another guy who had no hand at all, off at the wrist.
    He was a bit better off ( :o ) because he could use his arm to stabilise the steering. He had an attachment to his stump that fastened him to the bike. He had a quick release device in case of an off. Double brakes on side as before.

Both guys needed to master having both brakes and the shifter operated by one hand. Some customisation of the mounts was necessary to put all those levers in the range of one set of fingers. 1x shifting was essential of course.

I was so blown away by the awesomeness of both guys that I completely forgot to ask about whether they had a dropper post.