Watching the Tour

Circumstances mean I may have a spare week this summer, during which I may be able to go and watch the Tour.

Ideally, I'd like to go to a stage or two in the Alps or Pyrenees. And take my bike, for obvious reasons - I've never ridden a proper mountain.

However, I have limited experience of this, and would probably travel solo, 'cos no mates...Any tips for getting there (drive vs fly vs train), accommodation, etc? Budget isn't unlimited but I'm prepared to pay reasonable money - but not private jet money, IYKWIM.

All advice, etc welcomed.

TIA

It's just a hill. Get over it.

Comments

• It's easy enough to drive and stay in Air BnBs.

I went for the first time in 2018 and drove to col D'aspin from which Tourmalet is an easy enough ride away (albeit the less nice side). Peyresourde also not far, Portes du Bales also nearbyish.

We then drove to Ventoux, staying outside Bedouin to do Cingles, and on the way home, spent 2 days in Reims riding around Champagne.

It's actually pretty easy once you get planning. It's just a long slog in the car - worth stopping overnight unless you have a banging 20 hour playlist
  • If you are feeling a bit flush, I'd consider these guys https://pyreneesmultisport.com/tours/tour-de-france-2022/

I've been on a couple of tours with them a few years ago, and would imagine this would be a great way to spend a week.