Looking for an eMTB, hybrid or trekking bike for my wife.

mac_man
mac_man Posts: 918
Hi all,
My wife already has an MTB but I am seriosuly considering an ebike for her so we can share longer rides. I'm a complete novice to ebikes so I am wary of spending too little on getting the right spec. We are full-time living in a motorhome so our bikes are substitute cars and will be used for everything from exploring off-road, sightseeing to shopping and visits to the hospital. So it needs to be durable and reliable and be able to hang panniers off it. She is only 5'3" so sizing is critical.

I was browsing the other day and saw this: https://www.bike-discount.de/es/radon-solution-hybrid-7.0-lady-performance-500-1

I know Radon have a good reputation for the great value MTBs, but what ither brands and models should I consider. I have considered converting her current bike as she really likes it, but a decent kit seems to be around £1k and I wonder if it will do the job long term. My budget is around €2500 max.

Would love to hear your input folks.
Cool, retro and sometimes downright rude MTB and cycling themed T shirts. Just MTFU.

By day: http://www.mtfu.co.uk

Comments

• mercia_man
    mercia_man Posts: 1,431
    My wife has used e-bikes for the last 15 years for 30-mile round trip commuting and day rides in the hilly south Shropshire/Mid Wales countryside where we live. It’s a good way for us to ride together although she can leave me for dead on my lightweight road bike on long ascents.