Winter software

I'm just wondering if anyone else has had a similar dilemma.

I have been using Trainer road for several years and like their easy-to-use setup and the new additions of Trainnow and Adaptive training are good. I use rollers with a separate power meter and it works well but I certainly found over the past couple of years that I don't find that the small gains I've made through intervals translate very well back outside on my !ocal rolling roads.

So I've been considering changing to Zwift or maybe the revamped sufferfest but I'm guessing to get the most out of these I really need to invest in a smarttrainer? I know I can use my current setup, it will work, but obviously there isn't the feedback of gradients. I can "simulate" gradients sort of but which gear low cadence only goes so far. Unfortunately the elite smart rollers are a little out my budget.

Has anyone seen positive returns from simulated smart rides as opposed to just intervals?

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,776
    I used to use a semi-smart Kurt Kinetic Rock n Roll which would slow your progress down on inclines so you had to change up gear and therefore effort. I had some improvements.
    Moving to a Tacx Neo 2T was a massive improvement. There are cheaper alternatives. I think getting the best trainer you can afford is priority if you are going to be doing indoor riding.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,498
    edited September 2021
    It all depends what you're trying to do, and why you want to ride indoors. For me it is a way to get structured training sessions once a week, or on those days when it really is filthy outside, so that I can get fitter / faster for my real riding - which is outside all year round.