Winter thermal jacket

Looking for a warm winter jacket, something fleece lined.

DHB seem to do a few options. Anyone have any experience of the Classic thermal?

Have also seen a DHB blok fleece lined.

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Budget?
  • In my experience this is one piece of equipment where it is really worth spending money on. Breathability of a winter jacket is even more important than on any summer kit, you will always produce moisture and if this can't be dispersed you will find yourself in damp cold clothing towards the end of the ride when your energy levels are dropping and your body will struggle to generate enough heat to keep you warm. A good winter jacket will be highly windproof while offering good breathability and insulation. It should also be reasonably waterproof so that you won't need an outer shell unless you get caught in a real downpour.

I have no experience of the DHB products in particular, I have a Gore jacket which is excellent, it is about 7 years old now so I don't know how it relates to their current offerings, but it remains in great condition despite me using it for winter gravel rides as well as road riding in cold & damp weather.
  • elbowloh
    elbowloh Posts: 7,078
    Tbh, i've never needed a winter specific jacket.

I've found that a winter thermal jersey with my normal rain jersey over the top has been warm enough for me. At a pinch, i'd add a base layer, got a couple of cheap enduro merino ones that are great.
    Felt F1 2014
    Felt Z6 2012
    Red Arthur Caygill steel frame
    Tall....
    www.seewildlife.co.uk
  • masjer
    masjer Posts: 2,564