Alien attack, multi tool won't close

Hey,

I am not an experienced rider and definitely not very knowledgeable in regards to fixing bikes

I bought a 'Topeak Alien II Multi Tool' some three years ago. I take it on journeys but haven't really had to use it much, other than occasionally tightening a few bike ornaments (yes I said ornaments... like I mentioned I'm not very experienced...)

This week I tried to get the 3mm allen key out... disaster

Somehow in doing so the 8mm spanner, Spoke Wrench, 10mm spanner and flat screwdriver became stuck in the erect position. In-between the 3rd and 4th of those the stainless knife is stuck in the down (closed) position.

So five of the tools are stuck. Four of them critically in the up placement – so I can’t put the tool away.

I tried to loosen the side screws [until one came off] – to give more ‘room’ between tools. This gave a little movement but still they are stuck in their up [4 of them] or down [1 the knife] positions.

Is this a common issue?

Is this because I haven’t used it, often… ?

Is this a solution of using WD40? I can't see how that will help but then after loosening didn't work, I'm not sure what to do.

The tool has gone on rides with me, but always in a waterproof bag. So it shouldn’t be rust.

Anyone else had this?

Anyone know how to fix this?

Sorry if the question is somewhat remedial.

Thanks for any help/abuse xx

Comments

• JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    edited April 2021
    It’s probably just a bit of corrosion. Take the multi tool apart (carefully noting where any bolts and washers go), clean everything and then reassemble it.

EDIT: The tool pulls in half. The knife blade is on one half and the Allen keys on the other half. Have you separated the two halves before trying to fold the tools back down?
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”