Used hydraulic shifters and calipers what parts do I need?

On my bike I have Ultegra 6800 with TRP Spyre mechanical disk brakes. After a lot of fettling I'm still not impressed with stopping power if I'm honest; they not even as good as rim brakes.
I'm thinking of upgrading to used Shimano RS505 or Ultegra RS685. Buying used doesn't bother me as it's the only way for me to afford decent kit, but I'm a bit of a novice with disk brakes. Other than the obvious shifters and calipers what additional parts do I also need? I'll probably have a go at fitting them myself but should I resort to my LBS I'd like to present them with the right bits!
Specialized Venge S Works
Cannondale Synapse
Enigma Etape
Genesis Flyer Single Speed

Turn the corner, rub my eyes and hope the world will last...

Comments

• me-109
    me-109 Posts: 1,915
    Hydraulic hoses of sufficient length. A lot of used shifters (not so much calipers) come with the hose installed, but if it is off a shorter frame or lower setup you may not have enough length on them.

Gear cable inners and outers of course should be replaced to suit.
  • joe_totale-2
    joe_totale-2 Posts: 1,333
    edited April 2021
    You'll need to get a rebleed kit from someone like Epic Bleed solutions as the system will likely need a full rebleed.

There's lots of helpful YouTube videos around showing you how to do it.

New olives and barbs will also be needed but they're cheap.

Bartape if the old stuff isn't reusable.
  • ed1973
    ed1973 Posts: 284