Wahoo Kickr Core noob, need advice re. sensor connectivity

I have a Wahoo Kickr Core and have managed to successfully connect it to both my iphone and my Windows Surface Pro tablet via bluetooth.

I have both a Garmin chest strap HR monitor as well as a Garmin Vivoactive HR watch that can broadcast HR, my understanding is both of these devices transmit using Ant +

I also have a Garmin 800 which seems to be the only device that can read both the power meter from the Wahoo Kickr Core as well as the heart rate from either the Garmin HR chest strap or the watch.

I have a years free subscription to the sufferfest but also wouldn't be adverse to paying for Zwift. In the ideal world, I would connect both the Wahoo Kickr Core & either of the Garmin HR devices up to my Desktop PC (Windows 10) as it's in the perfect location for training and has a large monitor attached.

Am I right in thinking the best thing to do is buy an ANT+ USB stick for the PC which will be able to read both the Garmin HR and the Wahoo Kickr Core? If so, can anyone recommend one or are they all much of a muchness?

Or would I be better getting a HR monitor that broadcasts in Bluetooth?
First love - Genesis Equilibrium 20
Dirty - Forme Calver CX Sport
Quickie - Scott CR1 SL HMX
Notable ex's - Kinesis Crosslight, Specialized Tricross

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,702
    I would buy an ANT+ dongle. Anecdotally, Bluetooth has been less reliable for me using Zwift. I only use it to connect my HR monitor to a tablet for Zwift running, and have suffered from quite a few dropouts. The same HR monitor connecting to the PC I use for the turbo trainer over ANT+ has been rock solid.
  • wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    edited March 2021

Am I right in thinking the best thing to do is buy an ANT+ USB stick for the PC which will be able to read both the Garmin HR and the Wahoo Kickr Core? If so, can anyone recommend one or are they all much of a muchness?