Clip on Aero Bars

I'm going to be taking part in the Aix en Provence 70.3 in September this year which will be my first ever non-sprint triathlon. As a complete rookie I'll not be splashing out on a TT bike but was wondering about clip on aero bars for my Pinarello Prince FX and figured I should probably get them sooner rather than later so I can get used to them and train with them.

After reading a lot of stuff online, it appears that aero bars seem to make a BIG difference. My main questions are:

1. Are clip on bars going to make a large difference on a rolling course? (1,200m of climbing over 90km)
2. Any buying advice for a first pair of aero bars? What sort of things should I be considering (budget, material, weight)?
3. Should I be considering tweaks to my bike set up: saddle height/position etc.

Many thanks in advance!

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    1. Clips ons will make a difference anywhere on the course where you need to get aero. So anywhere on the flat or downhill, they will - in theory - give you a better position.
    2. Budget is down to you, material is likely to be alu as carbon is unlikely to offer any significant benefit, performance or otherwise. Weight differences will be negligible anyway.
    3. You won't know until you fit the aero bars. Stem height might need to go up or down, forward or back, but I would avoid any changes to things like saddle height, especially before a target event.
  • WGD
    WGD Posts: 12
    Thanks a lot @imposter2.0!

I've noticed that there are a lot of different shapes and styles to the aero bars, is there any particular style that is less aggressive than others or just a case of seeing what feels good?

I'm also sensing that the second hand market might be a good place to try some of these out...
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    edited March 2021
    WGD said:

Thanks a lot @imposter2.0!