New project - bike renovation (beginner!)

Hi all.

Ok here it goes.....

I've been riding for just a few months, bought a nice 2nd hand Pinnacle Dolomite that's in great nick. Trained indoors on a new trainer initially, then ventured outside last couple of months - love them both.

No bike background but have managed to do a few things like replace stem, handlebar adjustments, replaced cassette on trainer etc, just very basic.

Anyway, my two teenagers looking to get into it, so have bought a very cheap, very old Trek 1000sl that needs a bit of work. So it's going to be a bit of a project for me as quite fancy getting into some self learned maintenence. Going to be a labour of love (or hate!). Fortunately the boys aren't in a rush, and I certainly won't let them out on it until I'm totally happy and tested it myself.

Shimano tiagra groupset (how to tell exact model?) with Shimao Sora flight deck triple shifters (ST 3304).

Rear gear cable is frayed. Front gears really stiff on the shifter and misses on some of the changes. Brakes seem OK. Going to give the chain and cassette a proper dismantle and clean.

Long term I might buy new cassette and chain and might even strip it down to frame and sand and prime and respray, if I'm brave enough, but need to get it in working order first.

First job is to replace the gear cables and I might as well to the brake cables too for piece of mind. Never done anything like that before!

I'm happy to learn on the job, can see loads of videos etc, but first off how to I tell which gear cables I need, or are any shimano cables suitable?

Is it also worth taking off the front and rear gear derailleur mechs too and giving them a good clean at the same time?

I'm sure I'm going to have lots of questions so any help is much appreciated! Hopefully take pictures as I go as a bit of a blog on my project....🤦

Comments

• dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,216