Newbie prepping for a century

Outside of occasional mountain biking and spin classes, I’m a total newbie looking to buy a road bike to ride a century with family.
At 5’3”, the local bike store said I’d likely need a 48, S women’s or XS unisex.
I’m a relatively active person, but would love your training tips for a century (my longest ride has been ~40 miles).
Would also love recs for great bikes (<$1k). Recs for shoes, affordable bike computers, and anything else you particularly love would be amazing as well!
I’m just trying to learn everything I can! Thanks

Comments

• brundonbianchi
    brundonbianchi Posts: 689
    edited December 2020