Essential upgrades for a cheap bike

Hi, I just bought a cheap second hand road bike for under £200 (Merlin S2200) as I'm new to road biking and want to try it out before spending a fortune.
I also own a decent quality hardtail mtb (Nukeproof Scout) with a few essential upgrades including Hope wheels, dropper post, XT groupset, Burgtec pedals etc, so can appreciate decent quality (💰💰😂) components.
So what is the first thing I should upgrade without spending a fortune to make the bike a bit better?
I've invested in a pair of Shimano SPD pedals as a start off, mtb style as I havn't risen clipless before.

Comments

• Nothing unless it's worn out.

Enjoy it, and then if you like it, you'll probably want a different frame, more than 8 speed gearing etc. Possibly not realistically worth upgrading on that bike though.
  • elbowloh
    elbowloh Posts: 7,078
    edited December 2020

Nothing unless it's worn out.

Enjoy it, and then if you like it, you'll probably want a different frame, more than 8 speed gearing etc. Possibly not realistically worth upgrading on that bike though.

This 100%.

Don't waste your money on replacing things that isn't necessary.
    Felt F1 2014
    Felt Z6 2012
    Red Arthur Caygill steel frame
    Tall....
    www.seewildlife.co.uk
  • I'd go with what has already been said. Ride it and see how you get on, if you really enjoy road cycling and you have the budget for it, at some point soon you'll likely just end up buying a better bike. Save the money you would have spent on upgrades for this.
  • The only thing I'd suggest is a saddle and that's only if your bottom doesn't get on with the one already on the bike.

Nothing will put you off a road cycling like an arse in agony.
  • That's a fair comment, as has been said, I will probably just end up buying a better bike, everything works, so if it sees me through the winter then all's good 👍
  • MattFalle
    MattFalle Posts: 11,644