Carbon sole pedal wear

julux
julux Posts: 7
edited November 2020 in Workshop
Hi all,

Looking for a little advice / feedback regarding wear on the sole of my road shoes.

I've been wearing a set of Lake CX 238 shoes for around 6 months now and I've notice a bit of wear to the carbon sole to the rear of the cleat. I'm using Look Keo pedals with the grey cleats (max float option I believe) and my cleat position is fairly comfortable. Wear on each shoe is almost even, though occurs in slightly different areas due to my non symettrical cleat position.

This wear looks to be caused by side to side play in the pedal and cleat combo. (See Photos)

I've used the same cleat and pedal combination on a set of Bont Vaypors previously, with very little obvious wear to their carbon soles.

My main queries below:
1. What's likely to be going on here, should I be concerned?
2. Should I be looking at replacing/upgrading the cleats and/or pedals?
3. Is the carbon on the Lake shoes softer than that of Bont's?
4. Should I be looking to use a cleat with less float, perhaps?

I'd appreciate any advice.
Thanks

J.

Comments

• First.Aspect
    First.Aspect Posts: 14,646
    Carbon soles get scuffed. If mine were that scuffed I'd be delighted.

Were those plastic things cleats at one point in time?
  • ibr17xvii
    ibr17xvii Posts: 1,065
    TBH that wouldn't concern me at all.

Things wear, ride your bike & enjoy it.
  • julux

Carbon soles get scuffed. If mine were that scuffed I'd be delighted.

The scuffs I can live with, but the deep wear spot behind the cleat was more my worry.

Were those plastic things cleats at one point in time?

Yes, they were. Time for some replacements then I guess!

• julux
    edited November 2020
    ibr17xvii said:

TBH that wouldn't concern me at all.

Things wear, ride your bike & enjoy it.

I do very much enjoy riding it! I suppose I'm just making sure I address any issues early and prevent my kit expiring prematurely.