Frame size problem.

I'm new to road bikes and would like to buy a used one. I looked over the guides to help me find the correct size, but due to my sizes, it's a bit tricky.
I'm 175 cm (5'9") tall, 86 cm inseam, and my arms span is almost 180 cm (5'11"), I'm also flexible.
I found a formula based on inseam 86 x 0.7 = 60 cm frame size. Other guides gave me 56 cm based on my height. On some forums, some say that 54 cm fit them perfectly. People that sell used bikes, often in the description suggests a person hight that their bike will fit. But this is only based on the person's height. From what I understand, I can adjust some parts to fit the bike better, but some like reach, not so easy.  
Can someone put some light on what size I should aim for and maybe suggest what adjustments to make?
I can't just sit on the bike and give it a try to find if it feels comfortable, as road bikes are new to me and I don't expect to feel comfortable regardless of the size. I'm sure there are arms and legs angles that I should look for, but again I'm new to this and have no idea what to look for.

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,713
    A 60 would be far too big. I'm 6cm taller than you, and generally ride a 56, though this depends to some extent on the manufacturer's specific sizing and the fit that I like. If you've never ridden a road bike, you're going to be best served by going to a good bike shop and asking them to help you, or finding somewhere that offers bike fitting services. Anything else is just guesswork.
  • It depends on whether you are looking at a frame with a straight top tube or a dropped one. But I would say, based on your relatively regular dimensions, that no larger than a 56 cm straight frame and, honestly, a 52 or 54 dropped (slanting) top tube. That should get you in the ballpark. You can adjust more if the frame is a bit small rather than vice versa.