Sportives/Audaxes what's going on?

Put simply, where do I go to get up-to-date, correct, reliable information on events – or isn’t it that simple?
Who do you believe?
How do you make plans?

Background: 2020 was going to be the year I tried my first Audax, so I’m new at this. Then Coronavirus…
I read on the sportivehq.com website that all 2020 events have been cancelled. Then just this week (Monday in fact) I get an email from britishcycling.org.uk that has a big splash saying “Sportives and non-competitive events to resume from September 5” following the links through to an event is no clearer. Statements like “COVID 19 - Update 20/08/20 The risk assessment is ongoing before we can 100% commit to the 6th September. We hope all will be fine but the worse case is that we will need to postpone the event...

Comments

• gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,519
    Keep your money in your pocket and wait for next year.
  • pangolin
    pangolin Posts: 6,315
    Audaxes are not sportives so if it's an audax you want to do you should not be looking at sportivehq...

Permanent Audaxes for some distances restarted in August. Calendar events (probably what you want to do) will be allowed, up to 300km, from 1st September I believe. What distance did you want to ride?

You may find them hard to book onto as there are limits on rider number I think, but if you can find one to book you should be pretty safe to do so. Audaxes are pretty cheap so not much risk involved.

https://audax.uk/news/covid-19-update-13-august-2020/
    - Genesis Croix de Fer
    - Dolan Tuono
  • webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087
    There was a sportive in the East Yorkshire Wolds a couple of weeks ago. The arrows are still in most places. I’ve no idea who organised it though.
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,268