New to road biking....

So I've been enjoying mountain biking for about 2 years but really fancied a lighter road bike for some more adventures. So I just got delivered my new Boardman SLR 8.6 2021 model. I know the spec ain't the best but it's lightish at 10kg for a large and has the claris set on it. Compared to my 22kg vitus emtb.

The gears are jumping on the back cog abit so going to have to set them up.

But I was wondering if there is anything you wish you guys had been told when starting out that you learnt the ling way? If truth be told I'm a little nervous of riding in the roads as been used to paths , fire roads and woods for last 2 years . I wouldn't mind changing my tyres on the bike, has come with vitarri Zaffiro (or whatever there called) , but would like something that rolls extremely well and very puncture resistant as the last thing I want is to be miles away from home with a puncture. So think about the gator skins.

Any advice at all for a newbie would be really helpful.

Thank You

Comments

• crescent
    crescent Posts: 1,201
    I think Gator skins are generally seen as tough tyres but perhaps not the best for grip and can be quite difficult to fit. Is there a particular reason you don't like the Zaffiros? My personal favourite is Vittoria Rubino which I now have on all three of my bikes but there are literally hundreds to choose from. A puncture is annoying but is not a disaster on a ride. As long as you have a spare tube, pump (or CO2) it is pretty straightforward and really something every cyclist should be able to fix - it will happen to you at some point so just make sure you can deal with it and you will be fine. Prevention is always better than cure so keep your tyres properly inflated and give them a check every so often to make sure they are in good condition and your chances of a puncture will be reduced. It is not unusual for road tyres to run at 80 to 100psi or so, possibly more than you are used to on a MTB.