Keeping your shoes dry

Hi all, newbie here. I'm one of those people who hadn't been on a bike for about 20 years but took advantage of 'lockdown' to give it a go - so I 'stole' my son's 10-year-old hybrid bike. And thankfully, after a couple of months, I've stuck with it. I must admit that I do like cycling when it's throwing it down with rain, however, my training shoes get soaked and end up stinking the house out.

As it's early days I don't want to go for cycling shoes with the associated pedals etc as if I don't continue it could be wasted money. So what's your advice? Would you go with cycling overshoes and just wear them over training shoes, or some other option? Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• ballysmate
    ballysmate Posts: 15,921
    My advice is to get used to wet feet. Water will get in through overshoes eventually.
    Aim for warm and wet instead of cold and wet. Overshoes will help in this regard.
  • slowmart
    slowmart Posts: 4,480
    Wot ballbag said.

I’ve got a pair of winter boots, fantastic in the cold, great in the rain until the rain starts running down your leg and fills the boot. Warm and wet feet. 6 winters old now and still great.

Overshoes, not as robust or warm but will keep your feet warm if not dry.

Waterproof socks, see winter boots, cheaper but same issue and not as warm.

So I’ve ended up not bothering, winter training in the garage and outdoor riding in just shoes with the benefit of wet shoes/socks dry out relatively quickly.

75 miles on Sunday with heavy rain, drizzle, and everything in between. I just dried out and the heavens opened again. As Bally says you gotta learn to love the rain unless you move to somewhere warm, cycle friendly, Covid free or with a damn good health system centrally funded through government, allows alcohol and has tolerant laws.