Complete newbie needing advice

Hi folks, I recently turned 49 and after years of playing football I've pretty bad knees so can't run and only tend to do low impact cardio at the gym. With lockdown in place I needed some form of exercise so decided to hop on my old hybrid Northside 100 bike I bought several years ago from Decathlon!
Where I live is quite hilly so over the last so many weeks I've started off doing around 6 mile cycles building up to more recently over 20 miles.
I must say I'm really enjoying it and challenging myself with more difficult routes. I'm at the point now where I'm seriously considering a proper road bike, getting fed up watching guys cycle past me with less effort while my pedals won't go any faster lol.
So my question is what would be a decent entry point and do you have any tips? I can get a bike via the cycle to work scheme but with them in short supply realistically I'm looking at a Lapierre Sensium https://www.jmhcycles.co.uk/lapierre-sensium-al-100-2020-d3105200-2982?search=sensium
Thanks!

Comments

• florerider
    florerider Posts: 1,112
    His website also shows Trek Domane Al3, recommended as a good winter bike. I have one and its my winter bike, happy with it. Bit more money but Sora over Claris probably worth it. Takes full guards too, so good for wet weather.
  • dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,217
    There is nothing wrong with your choice for a starter bike, it has a low gear ratio of 1 to 1 with 50/34T - 11/34T. As above if you want to ride all year round, look for a bike that will take full length mudguards and 28c tyres. If you can stretch your budget consider a bike with 9/10 speed transmission.
  • darrent71
    darrent71 Posts: 13
    Thanks for your advice guys, I'll not pretend to understand gears, so 9/10 speed gives me more power? Also I'm only 5ft 3 so am limited with frame size!
  • pilot_pete
    pilot_pete Posts: 2,120
    edited June 2020