Stem bolt alignment / attaching stem mount

es330
es330 Posts: 46
Hi there,

I am a terrible bike mechanic. I wrestle, swear and fumble my way the most basic of adjustments and maintenance tasks.

I recently bought a LifeLine Stem FacePlate Mount for my new road bike. After two hours of trying to affix the damn thing, along with attempting to keep the bars from dropping, I’ve ended up with the longer bolts I used poking though the other end of the bolt holds. It isn’t pretty (see pics). The existing bolts were two small. LifeLine provides no instructions on how to fit it. I fear I’ve made a right mess.

Any advice would be thankfully received!

Thanks in advance,
Kevin

Trek 2.3 2010

Comments

• wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    Looks fine to me.

Next time don't bother trying to stop your bars dropping when taking off the stem faceplate. Before you do anything mark the position of the bars relative to the stem. Change faceplate letting bars do what they want. Nip up the bolts enough to stop the bars moving under gravity but loose enough so you can move them yourself. Put bars back in correct position. Tighten stem bolts fully.
  • ibr17xvii
    ibr17xvii Posts: 1,065
    According to the web page on Wiggle it's supplied with bolts so I'm guessing you've used them? If you have I can't see what you might've done wrong TBH.

Looks like you just remove your existing top 2 bolts from the stem faceplate, replace with the longer ones & attach the mount.

If I'm honest the whole thing isn't the best aesthetically though. Don't like the way the whole thing attaches personally but each to their own.

It has a GoPro attachment as well so if you're looking for something to mount your GPS / camera there are better alternatives out there IMHO albeit more expensive.
  • Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    The bottom bolts seems to be protruding through the back of the stem more than the top ones.

Can you get away with the original bolts on the bottom holes?