Tyre wear

Being a relative mtb newbie I waswondering how best to guage tyre wear and when to replace.

I'm running WTB Vigilante High Grip Comp 2.3" front and WTB Trail Boss Comp 2.25" rear on a Bossnut. I've done about 800 miles on them. Mixture of road (I ride to all my local trails - Swinley, Tunnel Hill, Porridgepot, Minley, Frith, Ash Ranges), obviously some fire roads, single track, muddy, rooty.
They look OK to me but being knobblies I'm not sure how worn down the knobbly bits should be before I think about changing them.
I'm happy enough with how well they're performing but noticed a bit more side slip recently.
Any thoughts?
“You may think that; I couldn’t possibly comment!”

Wilier Cento Uno SR/Wilier Mortirolo/Specialized Roubaix Comp/Kona Hei Hei/Calibre Bossnut

Comments

• reaperactual
    reaperactual Posts: 1,185
    edited May 2020
    If your happy with the less grip for now and feel safe riding on them leave it a little longer during dry weather and be careful. If you don't feel safe on them buy new ones a.s.a.p.

When you get to low knobbles on tread you may pick up punctures more frequently (If you are using inner tubes) and once I get a couple in a short space of time I shop around for a good deal and change as soon as I find suitable replacements.

• dabber
    dabber Posts: 1,926
    So far, so good regarding punctures. The trails I'm riding are pretty dry at the moment and the general grip stilll seems pretty good (given my mtb novice skills) so I'll see how it goes for the moment.

Wilier Cento Uno SR/Wilier Mortirolo/Specialized Roubaix Comp/Kona Hei Hei/Calibre Bossnut
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    If the centre tread is a bit low but the edge knobs are still good, then you have the perfect tyres for the Summer! If you like the tyres and can't think of anything better then replace them before the wet season starts.