Carbon dropout wear

buder
buder Posts: 154
Hi all - not have a good time of it lately bike related, seems to be one thing after another !.

I’ve been using the turbo and as such been removing the rear wheel, I’m doing so I’ve noticed the drive side rear dropout has some wear to the face.

When I run my finger over it the top right does run deeper. There are no issues with seating the wheel bit obviously it’s a concern.

What’s people’s thoughts on this, does it need repairing ?. What am I doing wrong to have caused this, skewers are tight and not loose but not too tight.

Comments

• bondurant
    bondurant Posts: 858
    Looks fine to me, my front forks have similar marks.
  • joe2019
    joe2019 Posts: 1,338
    Can't see anything wrong; mine look completely f*cked compared to yours, and I have been riding them daily like that for many years.
  • thegreatdivide
    thegreatdivide Posts: 5,807
    As the others have already said, this is normal, regardless of them being aluminium or carbon. It's all fine.
  • buder
    Thanks for the replies. It is concerning as especially in the top right there is some carbon material which has been removed it is slightly deeper in this area.

Am I doing something wrong here, any tips for stoping it bitting in as much ?.
  • Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    You're not doing anything wrong. Everything looks fine / normal.
    Ben

Bikes: Donhou DSS4 Custom | Condor Italia RC | Gios Megalite | Dolan Preffisio | Giant Bowery '76
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ben_h_ppcc/
    Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/143173475@N05/
  • buder
    Apparently I am told that this is common wear and the face can be built back up but it will not last the lifetime of the frame. I just want to try and minimise it getting worse, would a thin metal shim or something do ?.
  • joe2019
    joe2019 Posts: 1,338
    You worry too much, just ride your bike.
  • buder
    joe2019 said:

You worry too much, just ride your bike.