Cyclocross / winter trainer / commuter bike

Hi all

I'm looking at getting a cyclocross bike to vary my road riding and hope to race next season. I'm after something that will do as a commuter bike and winter trainer as well.

Can anyone advise weather a 1 x setup would be best or a double chainset? What is the range like on a 1 x setup? Quite flat where I live.

My idea was to get an additional road wheelset to change over when road riding.

Budget is 1000ish.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm a complete novice to cyclocross but road riding most my life.

Thanks in advance
James

Comments

• Personally if I was going to be using my Cyclocross bike for commuting and winter training then I would want a 2x system rather than 1x. I've used my old CX bike on the road before & the 46x11 gearing was a bit restrictive (Mostly downhills) compared to 50x11 on my road bike, I wouldn't really want 40x11 to be my largest gear.

It might be worth also considering if you want things like mudguard/rack mounts as you will be using it in the winter & commuting.
  • joe_totale-2
    joe_totale-2 Posts: 1,333
    edited April 2020
    Due to my winter bike being nicked I used my 1x CX bike for club runs last winter,
    I paired a 44 tooth chainring with an 10-42 cassette. The range was as good as a 2x set up but the gap between the gears was at times unbearable, often you'd feel like you weren't quite in the right gear as one gear would be too spinny whilst the next one would grind your knees into dust.
    Also the 10 tooth sprocket felt horribly inefficient, it is a bit smaller in gear inches than 50/11 but it was so hard to turn. I'll never get another groupset with a 10 tooth sprocket.

However, I do also race CX on the bike and 1x is fantastic for that, in some races the bike gets so clogged with mud that front shifting just wouldn't have happened and the clutch rear derailleur was also a big help. You also don't notice the gaps so much when riding off road.