Upgrade groupset or not worth it?

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here. I have a Giant Defy 2 that is about 8 years old. Nothing wrong with the frame and I have recently upgraded the wheels to feel a bit zippier. I just changed the cassette and chain but the gears still feel very clunky. The bike shop has told me that to get the cleaner, faster gear changes I am looking for I would need to upgrade my standard groupset to something like Shimano 105's. Happy to do this but at £300-400 I wonder whether it is more economical to pick up a new bike, say something a couple of years old for around £1000. It seems a shame as I love the bike and there's nothing wrong with the frame but what I fear is the upgrade not giving enough of an improvement in the ride.

Any thoughts and advice on this welcome please.

Thanks!

Ross

Comments

• lesfirth
    lesfirth Posts: 1,382
    You can get a great used bike for £1000 or less.
  • Charlie_Croker
    Charlie_Croker Posts: 1,699

I have a Giant Defy 2 that is about 8 years old.
    ...The bike shop has told me that to get the cleaner, faster gear changes I am looking for I would need to upgrade my standard groupset to something like Shimano 105's.

I'm a little confused here, what is your 'standard' groupset? You should have Shimano Tiagra already

https://bikeradar.com/reviews/bikes/road-bikes/giant-defy-2-review/
  • johngti
    johngti Posts: 2,508
    If you like the ride feel of the frame set you’ve got, you have the money to get a better group set and you want to do it yourself/learn a bit about spannering then what have you got to lose? New bikes are great but it’s possible to get a better group set for less money than a new bike.
  • Thanks for all the comments and advice everyone. I am still undecided. Charlie, I have the Shimano Sora groupset. My typo sorry - I have a Defy 3, not 2.
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,500