Gravel Bike Buying Advice

Hello All,

I am thinking in buying a Gravel Bike with a price range between 2000 and 3000€. Currently I looked to Canyon Grail 8.0 and Specialized Diverge X1. I am thinking in Carbon bike but then got some people saying that it will be more important to use the 3000€ in a AL bike with top brakes and gears. Going one step back I am a beginner that wants to use the bike mainly in road and sometimes off-road but smooth off-road. So after evaluation cross-country, endurance or gravel I think Gravel maybe the best option for me.

So with those assumptions can you give me advices and recommendations on the best bike to buy?

Thanks.

Comments

• kingstonian
    kingstonian Posts: 2,847
    I'm also thinking of a gravel bike, to use mainly for the commute (50kms a day in London) but will also be used along towpaths and gravel paths in parks etc. I bought an aluminium CX bike 3.5 years ago which is my current commuter bike but I've never been completely happy with the geometry, which is making me think about a change.

Personally, I'm looking at steel frames, mainly for the ride feel and also partly robustness. Hydraulic disk brakes will be on my list (have them on both my other bikes and find them super reliable and excellent modulation when braking), also tubeless tyres, and mudguard eyelets too (not bothered about fitting a rack to the bike though).

Haven't looked at groupsets yet, but will be Shimano as that's all I ever have on my bikes. Not sure what the gravel-specific groupset is that they have in their range and why I'd favour that over Ultegra or 105, so will be looking into it.
  • schlepcycling
    schlepcycling Posts: 1,614