Watt - what meassurement to trust?

I am quite new to cykling training (although I’m 46 years old). Done a few months of cycling to/from work (20 km/day) and weekend rides (initially about 50 km, lately 100-120 km). I also get on my trainer (elite suito) now and then. Elite claim the Suito measures wattage with something like 1.5 accuracy I think.

A few weeks ago I did an FTP test on my trainer. It indicated an FTP at 198 watt.

Now to what I find really confusing: Due to an unusually mild winter in Sweden I’ve done quite a bit of outdoor training on my gravel bike (Topstone alloy with 38 mm knobbly tyres). I push myself as hard as I am possibly able to sustain over 100 km. During the ride (and afterwards) I feel really exhausted. Still my average speed isn’t any higher than 22-23 km/h (total elevation of ride approx. 1000 m, mostly asfalt). I don’t have a watt meter on my bike, but Strava estimates the average wattage to be in the range of 100. Since I’ve entered my FTP as 198 (the figure Elite Suito told me) Strava tells me that I’ve been riding in zone 1 more than 90% of the time.

Then I do a 50 km ride with similar (perceived) intensity on my trainer. Much higher speed, average wattage 175, and half of the time in zone 4 or higher. Again, completely exhausted, but not any more than during the outdoor ride.

I’m getting completely confused. Am I training in zone 1 or zone 4 (definitely feels more like the latter)? If I am really pushing as hard as it feels, are Strava figures way too low? Or is it the trainer figures that are way too high?

A week ago I tried using a hr monitor on a long outdoor ride. It showed average 164 which (to me) makes zone 1 seem silly.

Thankful for any form of insight!

Comments

• tonysj
    tonysj Posts: 391