FTP test .... is it important?

zest28
zest28 Posts: 403
I am new to indoor training and I did a FTP a few weeks ago when I started. As all structured workouts were too easy for me, I decided to manually increase my FTP by 50 watts in order to get a descent workout. I can now complete all structured workouts were I feel drained after a structured workout session (but still able to finish them).

Is this a good way to set the FTP? I really do not feel motivated to do an other FTP test as it is not fun to do. So I am wondering if I can get away by setting the FTP level based on how easy / hard the structured workouts are.

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,702
    Which test method did you use? If it was an 8 or 20 minute test, there is an element of getting the pacing right to get the right numbers. If a ramp test, you may have stopped earlier than was completely necessary (they hurt a lot at the end). The accuracy can be improved through practice.
  • timothyw
    timothyw Posts: 2,482
    Have a look at Xert, it can give you a close estimate on your FTP just from normal riding (although obviously it's best for rides in which you are working at your hardest!)

Other question is how is your power output being measured, do you have a proper power meter? Trainers will estimate your power but this can be miles out (and inconsistent from one ride to the next, depending on the type of trainer).
  • zest28
    I use the power meter of the Wahoo KICKR. What went wrong is that the fan took a few days longer to ship, so I did the FTP test without a fan.

However I am wondering if I can adjust the FTP based on the difficulty of the workouts as I do not feel motivated to do an other FTP test again.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Clearly your FTP is wrong if you can complete sets with a higher FTP by 50 watts.

Lack of fan would definitely play a part. And possibly practice. If it's your first then you'll be more likely to bail out earlier.