Which rigid hybrid, give me a clue please.

An acquaintance has asked me for advice on what bike he should buy. He is a total newbie. He does not want a road racer, no curly bars, not an mtb. He just wants to ride around the village, tow paths and maybe the odd green lane now and again. He is prepared to spend between £500 and £1000.

My view is that he should go for a carbon fibre rigid fork, hydraulic dis brakes and a 1x11. After that I'm down to prowling through the web looking for potentials. Can you short circuit the process for me please with a few ideas?
The closest I've found so far is the Pinnacle Neon 5 Hybrid for £800, from Evans.
https://www.evanscycles.com/pinnacle-neon-5-2020-hybrid-bike-EV339959

Thoughts?

Comments

• gomezz
    gomezz Posts: 99
    While I am not a fan of Halfords, the Carrera range and Boardman too seem very good for what your mate seems to want, and will not break the bank for occasional use.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The Planet-X London Road flat bar is well worth a look, will take tyres up to circa 2", comfy yet efficient frame, I really like mine, coming up on 4,000 miles now.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    edited November 2019
    Giant Toughroad SLR1?
    Rigid but with 50mm tyres for a bit of squish, comes with front and rear pannier racks should he want to fit them, equipped with mudguard mounts, carbon fork, Deore gears and hydraulic brakes.
    2019 model is currently on sale if he can find one in his size.

“Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • Longshot
    Longshot Posts: 940