Newbie confusion with bike fit

angrod
angrod Posts: 43
edited October 2019 in Road beginners
Hey, I'm a beginner in cycling, and just got my first ever road bike ( CAAD12 105 2019, bought it for 1500€ ).
i'm very happy with it, but there's one thing that bothers me.

The bike is the right size, the saddle height is on point ( setup in bike store + I tried different settings ), but whenever I get Aero, my thighs touch my chest when pedaling.
I asked about it in a bike store, and he told me that either the saddle is too low, or I'm very aero ( smiling saying this, like it wouldn't be possible ).

I've never considered myself flexible, so I tried to take photos of me on the positions that are problematic. I don't have a home trainer, so I can't show how it is when I'm actually riding.
But I still replicated how my body position feels on the bike when riding.

I know I should do a proper bike fit, but it's a bit expensive so I can't do this for at least 2 month.

Please, do you guys have some ideas about this ?

- Is the bike just not "made" to be aero ( I doubt it ) ?

- Are my thighs too big ? ( always had pretty big thighs for your normal guy, maybe because I played rugby for 5 years )

- Maybe it's the crank lengh ( 170mm ) ?
When I asked this in the bike store, he told me he didn't think it was the problem.
I don't know if he was being honest, or trying to not say too much so I buy the bike fit.

Any help very much appreciated !

The pictures ( thighs touching my chest in both positions ) :

https://imgur.com/a/M2O81Qu

Comments

• webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087
    Is your left foot on the floor in those pictures. Re saddle height heels on pedals pedal backwards without your hips rocking is a rough guide to correct saddle height.
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211