Shimano Transmission Compatibilty Mayhem

daddylonglegs
daddylonglegs Posts: 96
edited September 2019 in Workshop
Back in the early 1990's I was a mechanic and a regular cyclist who also raced a bit. Since then I've been a very regular cyclist who also still can't help 'training' a bit. I keep three Shimano equipped road bikes and one custom-built Shimano-equipped gravel bike (this doesn't include my son's two road bikes). All the bikes I assembled myself and regularly maintain in my garage/workshop. The various bikes that I ride have Shimano 105, Ultegra and Dura Ace components that cover a period from about 1986 to currently around 2015, a significant period ranging almost precisely from the beginning of Shimano's transition from 'just another middle of the road bike parts manufacturer' to the biggest and (arguably) still the most innovative manufacturer of mainstream bike components in the world.

So with all that said, I wonder if anyone else is heartily sick of the oceans of confused, incorrect, ill-informed and misleading advice swirling about the bike-related internet regarding Shimano transmission compatibility. I mean, what is Shimano playing at?

If you were to believe Shimano's doctrine, there is now virtually no compatibility at all between any transmission components of different speeds. For example, 10 speed rear mech with 11 speed cassette; or - even more stupid - 10-speed chainset with 11-speed chain.