Just bought my first road bike...

captnspaulding
captnspaulding Posts: 14
edited September 2019 in Road beginners
Hi guys, I’ve been using my mountain bike for a lot of road use recently to complete my cycle 200 cancer research challenge, however I saw a really nice road bike for sale second hand on local ads, looked into it and thought it was a good one and so bought it.

It’s a Boardman Sport Limited Edition (yellow and white).

The only thing is - I don’t know if it’s too small or if that’s how road bikes are!? Next to my mountain bike the frame doesn’t look that much different in size and I’ve raised the seat to a similar height. However sitting on it, it just feels small and my toes actually touched the front wheel when turning when I tried it on the road outside the house.

Sorry for the complete newbie question and I suppose I should have researched better but I didn’t want to miss out on it as it looked really nice and I know they didn’t make many of these (500 I think?)

Oh yeah, shows what a noob I am, I tried holding the top bar instead of the (sorry don’t know the right terminology) bottom bar/looped bar(!?) and when I tried to stop I forgot the brakes weren’t there and went straight into my garden gate! Doh!!!

Is there any way of finding out what frame size I have so I can compare to what I should need? I’ve looked all over the frame and can’t see anything. My mtb says 17.5 on it but can’t see similar markings on this- apart from 3XB whatever that means!?

Any help appreciated!

Again, sorry for probably the newbies noob questions haha.

Comments

• This is the bike btw :)

7-A7-C09-D2-0-F4-B-496-C-B727-C71-D22-AE91-BC.png
  • webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087
    If that’s how you have set up, it looks all wrong. There isn’t much seat post showing and the bars look too high in relation to the saddle height.
    If the saddle height is the correct, the frame might be too big.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028