Bike Build - Headset Question

ed1973
ed1973 Posts: 284
edited September 2019 in MTB workshop & tech
Building up a new bike and I have a question about the headset.
I went on the Crane Creek Headset Finder online and it said I needed the following headset (tapered steerer)
ZS 44/28.6 upper and ZS 56/40 lower
In a tired state I ordered a headset but in my tired state, instead of the ZS56/40 lower I ordered an EC 56/40 lower.
So question, will it fit?

Comments

• I can't answer your question with any authority. But I fond this article by Parktools very helpful.
    https://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-he ... -standards.

EC refers to Conventional Threaded, whereas ZS refers to low profile integrated, internal cups and a lot more. I suspect they won't fit. But as I said I have zero experience in this.
  • ed1973
    I can't answer your question with any authority. But I fond this article by Parktools very helpful.
    https://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-he ... -standards.

EC refers to Conventional Threaded, whereas ZS refers to low profile integrated, internal cups and a lot more. I suspect they won't fit. But as I said I have zero experience in this.
    Thanks for the reply
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    No, an EC 56 fits into a 44mm lower with an external bearing (as used on threaded but can be used with ahead), a ZS is internal and the frame hole size is much bigger.

Distance selling applies!
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • ed1973
    The Rookie wrote:
    No, an EC 56 fits into a 44mm lower with an external bearing (as used on threaded but can be used with ahead), a ZS is internal and the frame hole size is much bigger.

Distance selling applies!
    Thanks
    That will teach me to order tired!!
  • ed1973
    Quick update