Which brake to keep me at a crawl going down questionable slopes?

Qu9ke
Qu9ke Posts: 2
edited August 2019 in MTB beginners
TLDR: Essentially which brake is needed as a beginner to use just to go down steeper, maybe moderately technical slopes at extremely slow speed so that I can get past them and move on with the rest of the trail? More info below.

Okay, I know the front vs rear brake topic has been covered by many including Sheldon Brown and other forum members around the net. I have done my research so I feel I don’t need extensive answers (although they are welcome), but I would like to present a specific mtb scenario and ask which brake, if I had to choose, would be ideal to help me travel down slopes at a crawl if necessary. I am willing to lean back if needed and apply the front brake, but keep in mind I am a beginner at trail riding, so odds are I won’t be going at average to fast speeds down slopes that have rocks/roots (depending on their size), even if faster soeeds may be more ideal in certain situations. I’m not afraid of speed in general going downhill if I can see ahead of me all right, but I don’t like the idea of going fast down certain slopes. But I understand that with certain slopes, depending on how steep they are, slow is not an option (and those slopes in particular I will probably avoid). Instead, just for the sake of traversing more questionable slopes in order to continue on the trail, I will probably opt for near standstill speed at times depending on the slope. If this isn’t a good approach, I would like to know.