Alternative Options for MTB

Marvinman
Marvinman Posts: 126
edited August 2019 in MTB buying advice
Hi, I’m thinking of buying a Scott Spark RC 900 SL, 2019, which is detailed here:

https://www.scott-sports.com/gb/en/prod ... =269745006

Im in the lucky position where I can get a good quality bike, with the aim being something light as I’m a small guy.

I’m fairly new to MTB and was wondering if anyone had any other suggestions of comparable options to consider?

Thanks

Comments

• steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    Wow! That is an absolute shedload of money to lay out on a bike for someone who is "fairly new to MTB". Yes, its a great looking bike, lightweight and with top components, but as you are new to MTB, there is no way that you will extract the value from that bike. It will be wayyyyyyyy more competent than you will be.

Also what you are not allowing for is the strong probability that as you develop as a biker, your ambitions will develop too. The bike is a top spec lightweight 100mm travel XC bike, and no matter how brilliant it will be at XC, it won't be as good as a good trail bike on rough trails or an enduro bike on even rougher ones, let alone anything downhilly.

What sort of riding are you planning to do, because that looks like an XC racing bike. It looks like the sort of a bike a road biker would buy, being lightweight and so forth.

You could buy two outstanding MTBs*, each one very different to each other for that sort of money and still have change left over for a trail helmet, knee and elbow guards, backpack, MTB shoes and so on.

Note* Merely for example the two following carbon fibre framed bikes:

No 1 Whyte T120C RS 2019 120mm travel 27.5 £2975 (down from £3500) 120mm travel
    https://www.rutlandcycling.com/bikes/mo ... lsrc=aw.ds

No 2 YT Jeffsy 27 CF Pro 150mm travel 27.5 £3500
    https://www.yt-industries.com/uk/detail ... tegory/509