Stelvio questions.

crescent
crescent Posts: 1,201
edited September 2019 in Tour & expedition
I'm heading to Bormio in July and looking to do Stelvio and Gavia at least, both from Bormio. In terms of navigation they both look fairly straightforward.I have no knowledge of the area other than a glance through Google maps but it's looking like climbing the Stelvio from Prato would require me to cycle over from Bormio first - not sure I'll have the time or legs to do both ascents in one rides so that may be a non-starter. As an alternative, is it relatively straightforward entering Switzerland to do the Umbrail pass? I'm assuming there is border control etc? Thanks for any advice. Cheers.
Bianchi ImpulsoBMC Teammachine SLR02 01Trek Domane AL3“When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. “ ~H.G. Wells Edit - "Unless it's a BMX"

Comments

• dish_dash
    dish_dash Posts: 5,551
    edited April 2019
    Bormio's a great base.

Yes, to cycle Stelvio from Prato needs you to go over it first from Bormio. I've done a full day trip of up the Stelvio to the Umbrail (which is a couple of km short of the top of the Stelvio) headed down into Switzerland, cycle along the flat for a bit to Prato, had some lunch and come back up the photogenic side. It's pretty straightforward.

Switzerland is in the Schengen area, so there was no noticeable border controls.

Did a similar day with the Gavia - up over from Bormio and down the other side for lunch and then up over it again back to Bormio. As an alternative, you can tie in the Mortirolo and make a loop of it. Either down the valley to Bormio, over the Mortirolo and then up the Gavia, or Gavia first then the Mortirolo and back to Bormio. The former is the more classic ascent of the Mortirolo I believe (and bloody hard)!

The cycle up to Lago di Cancano is also worth considering.
  • meursault
    meursault Posts: 1,433
    I'm also going in July.

Our plan is