Forum home Road cycling forum Road buying advice

Garmin Edge 520 failing - what would you do?

gabriel959gabriel959 Posts: 4,227
edited March 2019 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I have a Garmin Edge 520 that has worked really well for the last 4 years (I bought it just after it launched in 2015) but it has now some screen problems when the backlight is on, the unit is still usable if a bit annoying so I have 3 choices:

- Garmin to send me a refurbished (or new?) unit for £94.
- Buy a new Garmin Edge 520 Plus (or a Wahoo) for around £180.
- Keep mine until it is unusable (possibly a few more weeks/months) and then get one of the above replacements.

Also, does anybody know if Garmin or Wahoo (or other manufacturer) is likely to launch new devices in the next few weeks/months?

Thanks!
x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
Commuting / Winter rides - Jamis Renegade Expert
Pootling / Offroad - All-City Macho Man Disc
Fast rides Cannondale SuperSix Ultegra

Posts

  • keef66keef66 Posts: 13,123
    The Elemnt is being discounted at the moment, which may hint at an imminent replacement. Bolt still full price.

    Pondering replacing my idiosyncratic Garmin Touring Plus. Despite the name, the longer the ride the more likely it is to have a meltdown or simply shut down.
  • thegreatdividethegreatdivide Posts: 5,431
    Run it into the ground and then get a 520 Plus. I reckon the 1030 and 820 will be the upgraded units this year.
  • gabriel959gabriel959 Posts: 4,227
    I am thinking the same, thanks.
    x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
    Commuting / Winter rides - Jamis Renegade Expert
    Pootling / Offroad - All-City Macho Man Disc
    Fast rides Cannondale SuperSix Ultegra
  • Grab https://www.probikekit.co.uk/bicycle-co ... 46427.html for ~£98 before cashback.

    Or https://www.merlincycles.com/lezyne-meg ... 15033.html for ~£150 before using reward points and cashback.
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • gabriel959gabriel959 Posts: 4,227
    The Lezyne's look good, but I am not buying new mounts, I am skint at the moment, will wait until mine dies and then probably get a 520 Plus or a Elemnt replacement, as I can keep my mounts.
    x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
    Commuting / Winter rides - Jamis Renegade Expert
    Pootling / Offroad - All-City Macho Man Disc
    Fast rides Cannondale SuperSix Ultegra
  • kingrollokingrollo Posts: 3,162
    I quite fancy making the jump to a wahoo device - but would like the di2 integration, which currently wahoo doesn't do - wonder what the prospects are of this being introduced in future ?
  • yiannismyiannism Posts: 345
    kingrollo wrote:
    I quite fancy making the jump to a wahoo device - but would like the di2 integration, which currently wahoo doesn't do - wonder what the prospects are of this being introduced in future ?

    It seems that is working fine

    https://eu.wahoofitness.com/devices/bike-computers/elemnt-integrations
  • alanparsonsalanparsons Posts: 529
    kingrollo wrote:
    I quite fancy making the jump to a wahoo device - but would like the di2 integration, which currently wahoo doesn't do - wonder what the prospects are of this being introduced in future ?

    My Wahoo works with Di2.
    Shows gear selection, battery level and Top buttons on Dura-ace selects pages.
    You obviously need to have the EW-WU-111 bluetooth dongle fitted.
  • super_davosuper_davo Posts: 735
    Have you tried flashing the firmware? I did that on my Edge 800 when it was playing up and its still working 3 years later.

    Read this:

    https://singletrackworld.com/forum/topi ... re-update/

    Downgrade the firmware to the latest but one version, let it upgrade back to the current version. Will cost nothing but an hour of your time, and if the bug is software related, chances are it will fix it. If hardware related you would need a new unit anyway.
  • gabriel959gabriel959 Posts: 4,227
    super_davo wrote:
    Have you tried flashing the firmware? I did that on my Edge 800 when it was playing up and its still working 3 years later.

    Read this:

    https://singletrackworld.com/forum/topi ... re-update/

    Downgrade the firmware to the latest but one version, let it upgrade back to the current version. Will cost nothing but an hour of your time, and if the bug is software related, chances are it will fix it. If hardware related you would need a new unit anyway.

    The Garmin works perfectly, did an Audax the other weekend and held like a champ for 10h+, it is not a big deal, it is only the bottom left corner of the screen and it is still visible unless the backlight is on, which isn't often. Thanks though, I had heard about those issues.
    x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
    Commuting / Winter rides - Jamis Renegade Expert
    Pootling / Offroad - All-City Macho Man Disc
    Fast rides Cannondale SuperSix Ultegra
Sign In or Register to comment.