Advice on new bike

mattdanielc
mattdanielc Posts: 41
edited March 2019 in Commuting general
Hi guys

I'm struggling between 3 bikes so would appreciate some advice. I can afford the most expensive - but is it worth it? i.e. are the parts on the bike worth the extra money it costs?

I commute to work every day. I'll be fitting mudguards and a pannier rack. My bike ride is around 25 minutes, 5 miles (twice a day obviously).

The 3 bikes are:

https://www.boardmanbikes.com/gb_en/pro ... -grey.html
https://www.boardmanbikes.com/gb_en/pro ... b-8.8.html
https://www.boardmanbikes.com/gb_en/pro ... b-8.9.html

The bike I am replacing is:

https://www.thebikelist.co.uk/boardman/hybrid-comp-2014 (and this is my only bike)

So you can see these new bikes have better components - although is the 8.6 much of an upgrade over my current bike? Forgive me I'm not really good with specs. The 8.9 has carbon forks and it looks to me like it has the best parts?

I am looking for a bike with as little maintenance as possible as I'm not clued up on bikes.

Would appreciate any advice :) (and please don't offer alternatives - it's just from this choice of 3 for various reasons).

Comments

• joe_totale-2
    joe_totale-2 Posts: 1,333
    The 8.8 looks pretty capable to me, the 8.9 looks like you're paying £200 for another gear.
    Assuming you're buying this on C2W you could use the rest of the money on the mudguards, rack and other bits and bobs.
  • Joe Totale wrote:
    The 8.8 looks pretty capable to me, the 8.9 looks like you're paying £200 for another gear.
    Assuming you're buying this on C2W you could use the rest of the money on the mudguards, rack and other bits and bobs.
    I definitely think the 8.8 is the best deal. I think for an extra £200 you get another gear yes, plus a different groupset (better quality). Not going to lie though the 8.9 is prettier :D In all seriousness though I presume a single gear might be quite important if I'm running a single chain ring?