Sora Compatible Long Cage Rear Mech

Warbski
Warbski Posts: 4
edited March 2019 in Road buying advice
I’m planning on doing some bikepacking this summer and want to lower my gearing to help getting up hills while fully loaded.

I don’t want to go to the trouble or expense of going triple chainring and would rather put a bigger cassette (11-40/ 11-42) on. I know I will need a long cage derailleur for this so just wanted some advice on a good option that is compatible with a Sora groupset.

Comments

• Warbski
    Warbski Posts: 4
    Sorry, i’m a bit of a novice when it comes to these things. Do you mean reducing the size of my chainring sizes (currently 34/50)?
  • faster97
    faster97 Posts: 33
    Any 7,8 or 9 speed MTB mech with a suitably long cage would be your best bet for such a big cassette and would be compatable with your Sora shifters.

If you have Sora with the little thumbshifters, the front shifter is already triple compatible. You'd only need a road triple crankset and front mech.
  • Klaus B
    Klaus B Posts: 63
    As far as I know rear derailleur that can take the biggest cassette compatible with Sora shifters are the Sora r3000 long cage (11-34 max) and alivio long cage (11-36 max).
    So you need at least a front chainring as small as 26/28t to go uphill full loaded at a decent cadence.
    The cheapest way to achieve so is to use a MTB crankset. But there are some issues then..
    1) you need to use a MTB front derailleur to work properly and this won't be compatible with the Sora shifter(different pull ratio). You can make it work only using a Problem Solver that change the pull ratio.
    2) the stance (q-factor) of a MTB crank is wider and less efficient than the stance of a road crank. If you have doggy knees going for a MTB crank is not ideal.
    3) putting a wide stance crank on a road bike can compromise the chainline.