New Groupset for my Canyon Ultimate

Ambitio22
Ambitio22 Posts: 2
edited March 2019 in Road buying advice
Hi all

I am new in the Road Bike sport and I bought a full carbon bike with a Dura Ace group.
The frame is in super shape and I bought it second hand, the frame is from 2010.
Unfortunately, the Dura Ace shifters have no internal cables but the cables stick out on the side!! This totally annoys me! :x
I would like to upgrade the groupset to a new group with internal cabling.

Now my questions, I would like to buy the Ultegra 8000 group and found a super offer on Merlin Cycles.
https://www.merlincycles.com/shimano-ultegra-r8000-groupset-special-offer-113147.html

Unfortunately, I have no clue if the groupset fits the frame and what I need to consider?
How can I figure out what group fits my frame and what are the important things I need to consider before ordering a new group?

Your support is much appreciated.

Cheers marco

Comments

• webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087
    If you bike has external cables, I would guess it doesn’t have internal cabling routes as well.
    Your only option would be SRAM Etap.
  • If i found the right frame images on lint it looks like it predates the move to internal cabling so you won't be able to do this but you will still be able to install a more up to date groupset that has concealed cables for the gears that run under the handlebar tape. One thing you will need to check is the bottom bracket you need for the frame when you choose the groupset. HTH
  • MiddleRinger
    MiddleRinger Posts: 678
    edited March 2019
    Just to clarify, do you mean the cables stick out the SIDE of the shiters like this ...

30-7157_shifter.jpg

... or it's just got external cabling (cables running outside down along the frame and top tube)?

Not that it makes a huge difference to your query, but just checking.