Fork sizing problem

Richard.S
Richard.S Posts: 55
edited March 2019 in MTB beginners
Hi everyone.
Just joined this forum, as I am new to cycling and have a few issues which hopefully you more experienced bikers can help me with.

I purchased some front suspension forks which are 1 1/8” (28.6mm outer diameter).
I tried to insert them into my bikes head tube, which was advertised also as 1 1/8” - BUT, the forks do not fit, due to the top and bottom headset cups inserting into the headset, reducing the internal diameter of the hard tube to less than 28.6mm.

I have therefore, removed the top and bottom headset cups, and measured the internal diameter of the head tube, and my vernier callipers read the internal dimension as 30.1mm.

So, my question is - I only seem to have 1.5mm available space to insert new headset cups.
Is this as expected, or should there be more space between the steerer tube and the cups?

Also, the outer diameter of my head tube is 35.5mm. Do I need a special type of headset / cups?

I appreciate any help on this matter, and please remember I’m a biking newbie, so layman’s terms answers would be most appreciated :D

Thank you all in advance.

Comments

• billycool
    billycool Posts: 833
    Any chance you can tell us which forks and which bike?
    "Ride, crash, replace"
  • Richard.S
    Unfortunately I do not have those details to hand, but I included the diameters above, as I figured that was the important issue. Thanks.
  • larkim
    larkim Posts: 2,474
    Surely you know the name of the bike even if you don't know the name / model of the forks?
    2015 Canyon Nerve AL 6.0 (son #1's)
    2011 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc (son #4s)
    2013 Decathlon Triban 3 (red) (mine)
    2019 Hoy Bonaly 26" Disc (son #2s)
    2018 Voodoo Bizango (mine)
    2018 Voodoo Maji (wife's)
  • larkim
    This https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Head_tube suggests internal diameter of 1 1/8 headtube should be 33.8mm