Boardman or Ribble?

bob_sergio
bob_sergio Posts: 5
edited February 2019 in Road general
Hi,

I’ve occasionally read these forums but this is my first post, so if This is a duplicated or similar thread to others then I apologise.

I’m a runner who has always enjoyed cycling as a leisure activity rather than a sport or for fitness. However, I’ve just had my 6th operation on my left knee so I’m thinking it’s time to hang up the runners and buy myself some cleats instead.

I’ve been riding a Boardman hybrid comp for a few years, mainly at weekends for 20 miles or so so nothing serious. The bike has been great apart from the bottom bracket which I’ve changed quite a few times now.

As I intend to increase my riding considerably and do less running I’m thinking it’s time for an upgrade! I like the idea of gravel bikes and living on the door step to the Peak District there’s plenty of opportunity to make the most of such a versatile bike.

I think I’ll do the cycle scheme at work (which is strange as it’s impossible for me to commute on a bike) and was looking at the Boardman ADV 8.9, seems a lovely bike, the bottom bracket issues I’ve had with my current Boardman casts doubts in my head though. I would be prepared to upgrade the BB and crankset with the money I save from the C2W scheme.

With that in mind would I be better off looking at something like the Ribble CGR AL 105?

https://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/ribble-c ... ano-105-1/

Granted it’s a bigger out lay but considering I’d be happy to upgrade the Boardman I’d be getting a better group-set and through axles...

Seems a no brainer to me, holding my hands up though I don’t know much about bikes, so I’m hoping the expert and experience heads on here can offer a little help.

Sorry if the post is too long but I would very much appreciate any advice!

Comments

• Tyresome
    Tyresome Posts: 113