Can someone explain gears to me?

bongofish
bongofish Posts: 123
edited February 2019 in Road beginners
So as many of you know I'm a newbie to road biking but a fairly long time MTB rider.

Anyway with road bikes I'm a little confused as to which chain ring to be in at the front. They both have fairly easy gears and obviously the bigger one has harder gears for faster downhill pedalling or flat pedalling.

But I'm confused as to which one is people's most common to stay in. They both have sufficient enough rnage in them apart from the bigger one has them few harder gears for descents. But apart from them few gears I could do most my rides in either.

So when just pedalling at a reasonable cadence and doing maybe 14mph should I be in middle big chain ring or harder gear on small chain ring? Also when you then move to the large chain ring from the small chain ring if your riding a hard gear in small chain ring it instantly puts you into a really hard gear on the big chain ring ?

I hope this makes some kind of sense. Just don't know if I'm missing something?

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Seriously - and meaning no offence, but just try a few different gear combos and work it out - it really isn't difficult - and with your MTB experience, you should pick it up in no time at all...
  • bongofish
    I feel like I have picked it up. But just feels a little cumbersome. Say I'm getting to a top of a hill and I'm in the small chain ring and then I start descending and think I need to move to the big chain ring . There's no gradually move up it's just bam your gears are now 3× harder or so it feels. Just didnt know if this was the norm or there was a work around.
  • imposter2.0
    So shift up a couple on the rear to compensate - like I said, this is really basic stuff for someone who is not new to cycling...
  • webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087