New Front Light

charlie_potatoes
charlie_potatoes Posts: 1,921
edited December 2018 in Road buying advice
I've been using a Knog Blinder for a few years and it has done the job. It is now only holding charge for about 90 Mins (flashing mode) though so I'm looking for a new light.
I have only ever used it on flashing mode as I don't ride at night but I do want something that will survive 4 or 5 hours in the rain.
Any recommendations for something with USB charging?

Not really looking to re mortgage unless there is a compelling reason to do so.

TIA
"You really think you can burn off sugar with exercise?" downhill paul

Comments

• fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Just a light to be seen by then ?

Seesense Ace is fantastically bright. USB charging. Clips on and off. I think battery life is 8 hours or so.
  • I've been astonished by my Moon Mizar - for £11 from Merlin it belts out 100 lumens day flash for 30 hours. Solid light is 40 lumens for 4 hours. My only slight criticism is that the day flash is quite slow - 2 quick flashes with then about a 1-2 second pause. For the price you could run two, especially as they are tiny - 55m long x 30mm wide x 14mm deep. If this doesn't suit, there are other lights in their range for very little money.
  • Fenix wrote:
    Just a light to be seen by then ?

Seesense Ace is fantastically bright. USB charging. Clips on and off. I think battery life is 8 hours or so.

Yes Fenix. Just to be seen.
    Thanks
    I'll take a look.
  • kentphil
    kentphil Posts: 479
    I've been using a Lezyne Zecto for a few months now on my daily commute, and i've been very impressed with it.
    1998 Kona Cindercone in singlespeed commute spec
    2013 Cannondale Caadx 1x10
    2004 Giant TCR
  • svetty
    svetty Posts: 1,904
    Exposure Trace ticks the boxes - I've used one for years with no issues....
    FFS! Harden up and grow a pair :D
  • orraloon
    orraloon Posts: 13,188
    Horizon wrote: